f1 world September 25, 2019

British Grand Prix 2019 Preview, Ferrari and Red Bull can overtake Mercedes again?

British Grand Prix 2019 Preview, Ferrari and Red Bull can overtake Mercedes again?


The run of eight successive Mercedes victories was finally ended in Austria as Max Verstappen pipped Charles Leclerc in highly controversial circumstances to take a second consecutive victory at the Red Bull Ring.


The sight of two young guns going wheel to wheel in the closing stages in front of more than 200,000 fans (half of whom were rabid Verstappen worshippers bedecked in brilliant orange) was a tantalising glimpse into what should be the future of the sport.


Will Ferrari and Red Bull be able to again produce that pace at Silverstone, or will Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes be back on top at a circuit they traditionally love? Toto Wolff described their package in Austria as “unraceable” – surely that won’t happen again…


Here is all you need to know ahead of a fascinating weekend of action in Northamptonshire.


2019 British Grand Prix Schedule


The start times for the British Grand Prix are as follows:


Practice 1: Friday July 12, 4pm (Vietnam time – GMT+7)


Practice 2: Friday July 12, 8pm


Practice 3: Saturday July 13, 5pm


Qualifying: Saturday July 13, 8pm


Race: Sunday July 14, 8pm10


Silverstone Circuit


Silverstone hosted the first-ever round of the World Championship in 1950 and is one of only two circuits to host a Championship race every year ever since then.


The iconic venue has undergone many makeovers over the years, but always remaining at its heart is a track that drivers just simply love to race on.


Silverstone boasts one of the fastest tracks in the world and you will struggle to find a more thrilling corner combination in racing than the Maggots-Becketts-Chapel complex. This circuit is one of Formula 1’s most valuable treasures.


Silverstone circuit announces 5 year F1 deal


Silverstone and the British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) are delighted to announce that the Formula 1® British Grand Prix will continue to be held at Silverstone until at least the end of 2024. The agreement between Formula 1, the BRDC and Silverstone Circuit was signed yesterday in London, in the run up to the FORMULA 1 ROLEX BRITISH GRAND PRIX 2019 weekend.


Sunday’s race will be run over 52 laps of the 5.901km circuit.


Photo: F1.com


Circuit name – Silverstone Circuit

Location – Silverstone

Laps – 52

Circuit Length – 5.901 km

Lap Record – 1:30.621 – L Hamilton (2017)

Which drivers have won the British Grand Prix?


Photo: F1.com


The last 10 winners of the British Grand Prix are as follows:


2018: Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Ferrari)

2017: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)

2016: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)

2015: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)

2014: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)

2013: Nico Rosberg (Germany, Mercedes)

2012: Mark Webber (Australia, Red Bull)

2011: Fernando Alonso (Spain, Ferrari)

2010: Mark Webber (Australia, Red Bull)

2009: Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Red Bull)


Track Lap Record: 1:30.621 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2017)


Tyre choices for the British Grand Prix


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By closing this box and continuing, you accept our use of cookies.